I Had an Orthopaedic Appointment Today

4 May

I am just home from my first orthopaedic appointment. My primary care doctor referred me because some of my pain, in her opinion, seemed more likely to be from a pinched nerve, or something of that nature, than fibromyalgia. The pain in question is in the upper back, is of a burning nature, and is to some degree touch sensitive.

I now have a tentative diagnosis of “myofascial pain syndrome” to add to my existing diagnosis of fibromyalgia. I still have to schedule MRI to rule out spinal / disk damage, but the doctor seems fairly confident in this diagnosis.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myofascial_pain_syndrome

Of particular interest, was this section from the Wikipedia article.

MPS and fibromyalgia share some common symptoms, such as hyperirritability, but the two conditions are distinct. However, a patient may suffer from MPS and fibromyalgia at the same time. In fibromyalgia, chronic pain and hyperirritability are pervasive. By contrast, while MPS pain may affect many parts of the body, it is still limited to trigger points and hot spots of referred pain.

Apparently I didn’t have enough pain in my life already. I’ve been told, many times, that the Goddess will never give me more than I can handle. Clearly, She believes I am quite the badass. I wish I could convince her I wasn’t quite that badass.

One Response to “I Had an Orthopaedic Appointment Today”

  1. Janet Logan May 4, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    I had the most wonderful, affirming, welcoming experience with this doctor’s office. The staff were very welcoming. They all made great efforts to use the correct pronouns, and to treat me in every way as female. Even when it came to disrobing for the exam, in every way I was respected as the woman I am. The doctor was also very affirming, using Ms. and all the correct pronouns. I guess if you have to do this, it could be a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

