Inevitable consequences of loss of income

26 Sep

When last I checked in, I had just heard about my salary being dropped to zero. I was left as a very part-time employee of the company that had employed me for the past 11 years. The loss of my income was felt, severely, by the household of which I have been a member for the last 18 months or so. As a refresher, I moved in with my daughter and her husband back in March of 2013, after that bad breakup.

Here’s the bottom line: We’re being evicted from our house in Atlanta. I’ve reached out to some local area LGBT folks for leads to possible housing in the near term. It will have to be very low cost, which likely means a low income neighborhood. I freely admit that scares me beyond belief. Generally speaking, low income areas are not as safe as middle income and above. Specific to my situation, low income is likely to be less accepting of the T in LGBT. I am scared out of my wits.

Then there is my own personal history of living alone since Barbara’s death. Yes, I’m referring to the episode of suicidal ideation. I am afraid to live alone because of that history. But that’s what has to happen, for reasons I won’t go into. The good news on that front is I know better than to take anti-depressants now. Hopefully that difference will be enough to keep me safe from a repeat of that incident.

If you have any prayers, energy, good thoughts you can spare for me, I certainly would appreciate you sending them my way. And if you know someone, accepting of the T, in Atlanta that would like a roommate who can contribute a few hundred dollars a month toward housing, I’d be happy to hear about that as well.

6 Responses to “Inevitable consequences of loss of income”

  1. The Elephant in the Room September 26, 2014 at 11:44 am #

    I hope you find a place to stay. Good luck 🙂

    • Janet Logan September 26, 2014 at 11:48 am #

      Thanks. I have a lead on a place, from a friend involved in the Trans Housing Atlanta project. No details yet though.

      • Janet Logan September 29, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

        It seems like I’m slightly ahead of the curve on the home in question. As in, the property isn’t yet available for me to see, but will be “soon”. I hope I can hold on long enough for soon to come.

  2. Ila East October 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    Did everything turn out OK?

    • Janet Logan October 14, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

      No, not really. Losing my car, moving into a shelter for trans people.

    • Janet Logan October 15, 2014 at 3:30 pm #

      Okay, stayed the repo of the car, for at least one month. Moving into the shelter/home this weekend, or early next week at the latest.

Leave a Reply

