The past few days have generally been looking up

8 Feb

Late Saturday night (11pm), I bought a car, a 2009 Nissan Sentra SE-R, in cherry red. It’s in great shape, and I got a good deal on it. I didn’t mention it before, mostly because the financing wasn’t final until Monday, and I didn’t want to jinx anything. So, I am again independently mobile.

I had a bit of a rough time Sunday afternoon due to a fibro flare, and had some trouble getting home from church. I was hurting so badly I couldn’t go straight home. A friend who lives close to the church had gone with me. When I dropped her off at her place, she insisted I come in and rest until I felt I could make it home. She brewed me a cup of tea, we sat and talked, and I got my legs back under me, and then headed on home. It was nice to visit for a bit, even if the circumstances could have been better.

Monday was relatively uneventful. I mostly stayed home, worked a bit, and continued to recover from Sunday’s fibro flare. I did a little online window shopping for my car (I want to add satellite radio), and took a short trip to pickup a toll tag. Other than that, I spent a little time familiarizing myself with “steering wheel-mounted paddle shifters” and “continuously variable transmissions.” Honestly, the transmission is a bit beyond my level of understanding. I’m a stereotypical girl when it comes to such things. I just want them to work. I am getting good gas mileage, to which the CVT supposedly contributes.

I realized late last week that I was almost out of the custom raw food I feed my Papillon. I needed to go get some, and the shop is only open Tuesdays through Saturdays. The shop owner (T) is a long time friend, and this was to be my first time visiting since I began my real life experience. So…

Yeah, you guessed it, another coming out opportunity. I wrote her an extended note on Facebook Sunday night, telling her what to expect, and preparing her for what could have been a big shock. She was wonderful. Her words in response were accepting, and kind, as I expected they would be. She had been friends with B and I for several years before B became ill. I hadn’t told her I was trans because of B’s fears, and then with B so ill, it just didn’t seem right.

I went over to the shop this morning just after it opened, and walked in with my head held high. I said hello to her and her girls, who help out at the shop. It’s a local family boutique business, and one I have always been proud to support. Shopping was uneventful, as it should be. I made my selections, and took the opportunity to chat with T.

She was very supportive, even inquiring as to whether I needed any help with makeup or anything of that nature. As soon as she asked though, she looked me right in the face, and said “It’s obvious you know what you are doing.” I was pleased by that. She said she had some ideas for when I wanted to glam up a bit, though, and directed me to some resources for evening makeup ideas.

The remarkable thing about her attitude is that T considers herself a conservative Christian. Pretty open and accepting for a conservative Christian, but she is a woman I would gladly call a Christian, as she practices what Christ taught. Her politics may be conservative, but she’s as accepting as most liberals I know, and more so than some.

After I was done checking out, T walked out with me to my car, just to have a look at it, and celebrate my good fortune with me. We had a few minutes girl talk about nail polish colors, and such, and then we parted ways. Later, in a Facebook message, T told me “We [T and her girls] all agreed you have made the change quite convincingly!” Another great experience out and about. Keep this up, universe, and I could be convinced that I really am pulling this off. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

