I tried to go out to dinner last night

19 Jan

I got dressed, put on my makeup, and my best short skirt. I figured if I was going to do it, I would dress to impress. Got to within 5 minutes of my destination, and crashed into the back of the car in front of me. No one was injured, but three cars besides mine were bumped.

Very minor damage from what I could tell. Well, except for my car. The entire front end was mashed, and the radiator was punctured. I can’t begin to afford the repair costs. I told the storage lot where the police had it towed to sell it for whatever they could get. Oh, and I was ticketed to boot. $270 fine.

I have now had the opportunity to interact with 2 Houston police officers, a tow truck driver, and 3 random citizens in a very stressful situation while in real life experience. I didn’t fall apart too badly. Actually, looking back, my emotional response was almost stereotypical female. I cried, I felt helpless.

I called my daughter to come pick me up at the accident scene. She and my son came, and helped me get personal possessions from the car. They suggested we go on to the restaurant where I was headed, and meet up with my friends. So we did exactly that. I cried on a few shoulders, and my sweet friends promised they would find me a car soon somehow.

Living in the suburbs of a major city, with no public transit to speak of, without a car, is not a great situation. I have a prescription waiting at the pharmacy that I cannot pickup yet, but must have by Friday, because the pharmacy is 5 miles away. With my fibromyalgia, I can’t walk 2 miles anymore, much less 10 miles round-trip. I’ll end up imposing on someone to help with that too. I hope my friends do manage to come up with something for me, but I simply don’t see how they can.

2 Responses to “I tried to go out to dinner last night”

  1. Cathy Eddy January 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Alan said all you need to do is replace the radiator. Ypu can drive the car with the comsmetic damage. You can pick up used radiators at pick-a-part. Cheaper than a new (used) car.

    • Janet Logan January 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      No, the car is not drivable. The hood is folded in two blocking the windshield, the driver’s side front fender is interfering with the tire and the driver’s door. It’s not just cosmetic damage. It’s likely that the frame is bent as well. That. combined with the legal issue that I don’t own it, and thus cannot get it out of the storage facility, and the advice of my attorney, led me to abandon it.

      Tell Alan I said thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

